Meet the Author – Tessa Lunney


Kiki Button is here! 

Meet the glamorous, witty and charming Kiki and her equally glamorous, witty and charming sidekick, Tessa!

Tuesday 26th June 2018

6:30 for a 7:00pm start
Bookings are essential.

Cost: $12.50 per person – $10 for Brays Loyalty Club members.
Finger food and drinks included.
To book, phone 9810 5613, email us at braybook268@gmail.com, or ask our staff in store.

April in Paris

 

Kiki Button: socialite, private detective and spy. We all have secrets – it’s just that Kiki has more than most … For fans of Phryne Fisher and Julian Fellowes

It’s 1921, and after two years at home in Australia, Katherine King Button has had enough. Her rich parents have ordered her to get married, but after serving as a nurse during the horrors of the Great War, she has vowed never to take orders again. She flees her parents and the prison of their expectations for the place of friendship and freedom: Paris.

Paris in 1921 is the city of freedom, the place where she can remake herself as Kiki Button, gossip columnist extraordinaire, partying with the rich and famous, the bohemian and bold, the suspicious and strange.

But on the modelling dais, Picasso gives her a job: to find his wife’s portrait, which has gone mysteriously missing. That same night, her old spymaster from the war contacts her – she has to find a double agent or face jail. Through parties, whisky and informants, Kiki has to use every ounce of her determination, her wit and her wiles to save herself, the man she adores, and the life she has come to love – in just one week.

Playful, charming, witty and very, very entertaining, Kiki Button – the fearless, beautiful and blonde-bobbed Australienne – is a heroine to win hearts.

Tessa Lunney was a former staff member of Brays Books. Since leaving us she has had fiction, poetry, and reviews published  in the Griffith Review,  Southerly,  Mascara, and Contrapasso, as well as Best Australian Poems 2014. She received a Doctorate of Creative Arts in 2013 from the University of Western Sydney. Her dissertation was on ‘silence in contemporary Australian war fiction, with a basis in trauma theory and close reference to David Malouf, Brenda Walker, and Evie Wyld.’

Her new heroine, Kiki Button is getting rave reviews on Goodreads. Catherine says,

the real charm of this novel – besides the fantastic descriptions of Paris, the authenticity of the period detail and the wit – is of course the entirely original Kiki: her fabulous clothes, her gaiety, her secret sadness, her appetite for life, her many and complicated loves.

Thomas tells us to beware,

Warning: this book may contain a ménage à trois in the first 30 pages, outrageous characters all vying for centre stage, a strong female character kicking ass, a love pentagon (as opposed to a love triangle), and the constant consumption of copious cocktails.

Christine loved the combination of light and shade, though her

favourite aspect of the book was the many shades of femininity and female experience throughout, with so many interesting women I want to know more about. I admit I was living vicariously through Kiki, she’s like the alter ego I’ve always wanted.

Micah was impressed by Tessa’s

attention to detail and idiom (which) brings the period and place to life, and the plot and pacing are on par with the best of the genre. But what I appreciated most about April in Paris 1921 was the deft way in which the author so subtly portrays the physical and emotional bruises beneath the makeup of the ‘bright young things’ as they drink, gossip and dance.

April in Paris, 1921 also gets a big thumbs up from Tessa’s former boss, Philip Bray!

kiki tessa

A picture of the author, dressed as Kiki, sitting in the terrasse of Le Dome Cafe in Montparnasse, Paris in April.

We hope to see you at Brays on Tuesday the 26th June for an evening of witty banter, good memories and great story-telling! The perfect way to while away a wintry night.

About braysbooksblog

Independent booksellers since 1969.
This entry was posted in Australian Authors, Bronwyn, Crime and mystery fiction, Event, France, Local Author, Paris, Tessa Lunney. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s