NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2017

On Monday night the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced. For the first time in the awards history the Book of the Year prize was taken out by a play. Congratulations to all the winners. We were delighted to see many staff favourites feature in the list below.

Sara had the good fortune to see Purcell’s stunning and powerful performance in The Drover’s Wife at Belvoir St last year. She has been raving about it ever since.

Bron & Libby both adore The Museum of Modern Love. Bronwyn was thrilled to hear Rose talk about her book and what it means to win an award like this at The Award Goes To….session at the Writer’s Festival on Thursday. Also at the session were James Roy & Noël Zihabamwe, talking about One Thousand Hills, Bron’s favourite teen book of 2016.

Have you read any of these books yet? Or heard a mind-blowing bookish discussion at the Sydney Writer’s Festival on the radio or at Bookclub? We’d love to know what has caught your attention lately.

Book of the Year Prize & Playwriting Prize

  • The Drover’s Wife (Leah Purcell, Currency Press)

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction 

  • The Museum of Modern Love (Heather Rose, A&U)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

  • Letter to Pessoa (Michelle Cahill, Giramondo Press)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction

  • Our Man Elsewhere: In Search of Alan Moorehead (Thornton McCamish, Black Inc.)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry

  • Ghostspeaking (Peter Boyle, Vagabond Press)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature 

  • Iris and Tiger (Leanne Hall, Text)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature

  • One Thousand Hills (James Roy & Noël Zihabamwe, Omnibus)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting 

  • The Code: series two episode four (Shelley Birse, Playmaker Media)
  • Down Under (Abe Forsythe, Riot Film)

Multicultural NSW Award

  • The Hate Race (Maxine Beneba Clarke, Hachette)

The NSW Premier’s Translation Prize

  • Royall Tyler

Multicultural NSW Early Career Translator Prize

  • Jan Owen

People’s Choice Award

  • Vancouver #3 in the series ‘Wisdom Tree’ (Nick Earls, Inkerman & Blunt).


About braysbooksblog

Independent booksellers since 1969.
This entry was posted in Australian, Bronwyn, NSW Premier's Literary Award, Sydney Writers Festival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s