Benjamin Law on pointless selfies vs books


Benjamin LawI loved Benjamin Law’s recent column in The Good Weekend magazine.

In part he wrote, ‘Social media is great – it’s how I get to see my friends’ babies, incredible architecture and photos from North Korea – but on some evenings I find myself staring at someone’s pointless selfie……and begin to question my life choices. When I found a lot of my friends felt the same way, we started a book club. Every month, we gather to drink beer, order chips and talk about the book we’ve assigned ourselves. So far we’ve read a Pulitzer winner,a true crime, a modern classic, a graphic novel, a National Book Award-winning memoir and the Miles Franklin nominees – titles I mightn’t have picked up otherwise.’

Write on, Benjamin! And read on!

About braysbooksblog

Independent booksellers since 1969.
This entry was posted in Benjamin Law, Bookclubs, Philip Bray, Pulitzer Prize. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

