Summertime Reading


Since January is often quiet as far as new releases go, I decided it was the perfect month for me to catch up on some of those books that have been sitting on my “To Read” list for far too long.  I have managed to knock off A Scandalous Life and half of The Churchills by Mary S. Lovell, and Wild Mary by Partick Marnham*, as well as most of Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides.  I thought I was doing quite well but my list seems to have grown again  – It’s like The Magic Pudding of lists!
After one brief conversation with a customer I have had to add An Instance at the Fingerpost (Iain Pears) and Perfume (Patrick Suskind) to the list.  So with January almost completely over I somehow think I’ll also be able to read American Gods (Neil Gaiman), A Year of Wonders (Geraldine Brooks),  and Revolutionary Road (Richard Yates).
 
The only consolation to this ever-expanding list of reads that I never seem to get on top of is that the books so far have all been worth the wait; I know I have some wonderful reading ahead of me, even if I creep over into February!
 
*A truly wonderful biography of Mary Wesley
About braysbooksblog

Independent booksellers since 1969.
This entry was posted in Biography, Fiction, Sophie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summertime Reading

  1. queenwilly says:

    An Instance of the Fingerpost, Perfume and American Gods are great choices. I loved them all.

    I look forward to reading Wild Mary – thanks.

Leave a Reply

