Anne’s Favourite Books of 2011


So many good books this year and so many I have enjoyed but my favourites include:

FICTION: Autumn Laing is Alex Miller at his best. Inspired by the lives of Sunday Reed and Sidney Nolan, it is a very Australian novel and eminently readable.  IQ84 by one of my favourite authors, Haruki Murakami, is a masterpiece of contemporary fiction. Clever, quirky and utterly engaging. It is probably my pick of the year. I loved Nightwoods by Charles Frazier – think Annie Proulx, even Cormac Mccarhy, with sweetener. Last, but not least, I found Kate Grenville’s Sarah Thornhill a very satisfying final book in the trilogy which began with The Secret River

NON-FICTION: I thoroughly enjoyed Annie Proulx’s quirky memoir, Bird Cloud and more recently, Joan Didion’s very personal and beautifully written account of the life and tragic death of herdaughter – Blue Lights.

ART: The book which I have REALLY loved and keep looking at is a new monograph on artist William Robinson, The Transfigured Landscape , with excellent essays from contributors including Deborah Hart and David Malouf. Beautiful colour plates and lots of them!

Happy reading to you all.

About braysbooksblog

Independent booksellers since 1969.
This entry was posted in 2011 Favourites, Anne, art, Australian, Biography, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Kate Grenville. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anne’s Favourite Books of 2011

  1. Novel Girl says:

    I’ve seen ‘IQ84’ on bestseller lists but wasn’t sure if it’d be more for readers into Japanese culture. That’s not really me. Then again, I loved books like ‘The Help’, ‘Water For Elephants’, and ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ even though they weren’t my normal reads.

Leave a Reply

