I was Mighty Mouse. You Tarzan?


Stieg (Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) Larssen’s long term partner, Eve Gabrielsson was asked recently, “If you were a literary character who would you like to be?”. She answered, “Mr. Tagomi in Philip K. Dick’s novel “The Man In The High Castle”.

This got me thinking about who I would choose to be. I know that as a much smaller than average Year 5 boy I very much identified with the comic book character “Mighty Mouse”. As a teenager I graduated to “The Saint” who was a suave, resourceful and physically superb crimefighter – though in all honesty his ability to wake and be instantly alert and ready for action is something I have never possessed!

Which character were you, or who would you like to be? Was your “first love” a character in a book perhaps? Trixie Belden and Biggles are two that have been mentioned to me in conversation. I’d love to hear of others!

About braysbooksblog

Independent booksellers since 1969.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Philip, Stieg Larssen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

