Once bitten…


Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Our Hachette rep, Debbie has been asking me to read one of the Sookie Stackhouse books for quite some time. But vampire-lit is not my usual reading matter so I have been resistant.

At the moment I am reading Hilary Mantel’s huge French Revolution epic A Place of Greater Safety. It’s a fabulous read, engrossing, but it also requires a lot of attention and focus.

Last week I was half way through it but felt the need for some light relief. On top of the pile by my computer was Dead Until Dark, the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. With Debbie’s recommendation ringing in my ears  I cautiously picked it up.

Two days later I was cursing Debbie…for getting me hooked into another series! Sookie is fun,  light-hearted, sexy and humorous.

Harris pokes fun at vampire lore and tradition, isn’t afraid to let her characters have sex and still manages to write a fairly decent mystery to boot. And people die! Harris kills off main characters without reservation!

The books have been turned into a cult TV show called True Blood. Dead Until Dark, with all its bloody gore and drama, turned out to be the perfect antidote for all the bloody gore and drama of the French Revolution!

 

About braysbooksblog

Independent booksellers since 1969.
This entry was posted in Bronwyn, Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

